The Catalyst

A Writing Teacher Writes (plus some writing prompts and recipes)

Love On Top October 18, 2013

Filed under: Vignettes,Writing Prompts + — Christopher DeLorenzo @ 5:45 pm

This shorty-short blog post is all about love.

The prompts this time are:

Love is solid

I need new everything

I think of her now

______________________________________________________________________________________

I think of her now, coming out of Marshall Fields with a black and gold shopping bag.

She decides to walk rather than take the train. It’s one of those late April days without rain, and the tulips and daffodils are everywhere: under the trees, hanging over the edges of window boxes, in vases on the tables in the Walnut Room, where she has just had a slice of Frango mint ice cream pie, coffee with cream. The clink of the china cup on the saucer. The clatter of forks. And now, the fresh spring air, the streets alive with people who have also decided to walk.

I like thinking of her this way, peaceful in her solitude. The El roars over her head as she crosses Wabash and heads toward the river. I want to crawl inside her thoughts, but knowing who she will become—mother, wife, demented old woman—I don’t dare interrupt this moment in the years of her youth, before all that, before all of us.

It’s sacred, this solitude, her young body, the way she thinks, perhaps, of dinner later, of being loved. She is young and attractive, and she knows she is loved.

I like thinking of her this way.

 

2 Responses to “Love On Top”

  1. C W Says:

    very sensitive perspective

  2. Melanie Wood Says:

    Hi Chris,

    I loved this piece. Your closing sentences brought my mother to mind. Ours was a struggle that ended when she passed. I was just nineteen when she died and we had a rough time until I punched her out when I was fifteen. (What? Well, yes: I had to teach her to respect me.) Mom had so much to offer but she never really knew it. I’ve always thought about a memoir: I used to call it “Now That They are All Dead” as there was much secret darkness hidden from family and friends.

    About 3 years ago I joined Ancestry.com and what I discovered there put Mom in a crisp and clear perspective. She finally made sense to me as an older adult. I now see her as a beautiful, tragic and emotionally stunted woman, Surprise! I’m working on a book about her and her mother.

    I hope to come to your next retreat in Sebastopol if you will be holding one. I’ll follow you on Laguna Writers for info.

    Best to you,

    Melanie Wood


Leave a Reply

