The Catalyst

A Writing Teacher Writes (plus some writing prompts and recipes)

Sweet Dreams February 1, 2022

Filed under: Humor,Travel,Vignettes,Writing Prompts + — Christopher P. DeLorenzo @ 10:30 pm
Tags: , ,

Thich Nhat Hanh (1926-2022)

This piece was prompted by a quote from the late Thich Nhat Hanh:

“Because you are alive, everything is possible.”

___________________________________________________________

“Here’s how I imagine it,” Ricky says. We’re talking on a screen with 6,000 miles between us. “You move to Italy and settle into your own little stone house. I head over to Paris to pick up Eddie, and we get on a train to meet you in Italy.”

Eddie lives in London; Ricky is in Berlin.

“Why Paris?” I ask. Ricky can’t stand Paris. Dog shit and rude waiters. Those are his main complaints.

“I don’t know. Because I want to meet him when he arrives on the Chunnel?”

“Okay.”

“We take the train to Rome, and then transfer to wherever you are in Italy.”

“That’s a long train ride,” I say, knowing it’s over 11 hours. “Why not rent a car?”

“This is my fantasy, okay?” he says, a little annoyed. “In your fantasy, you can rent a car.”

“Okay. The train is better for the environment,” I say, trying to smooth over my annoying interruptions.

“Exactly,” he says. “When we arrive, you have a beautiful spread waiting for us: local cheeses and meats, local wine from the winery where your Italian boyfriend works—”

“Oh, I like the sound of that!” I say.

“Well, I know how you are,” he says. “And bread of course, which you’ve baked yourself.”

“Nice. What about dessert?” I ask.

“We’ll bring dessert from Paris.”

“Ooo la la!” I say. What I really think is, After a whole day on a train, even the sturdiest eclairs will be soggy. But I don’t say anything. This is his fantasy about our reunion, and in his fantasy, we all live in Europe, and travel at the speed of light.

 

3 Responses to “Sweet Dreams”

  1. Sharon Smith Says:

    My dear one,

    This is absolutely wonderful. I read it to David. Also spoke to Elizabeth yesterday. She is so happy living in Italy. I picture it all. Who knows there might be a stop over at our little stone house in a town nearby. Definitely you got us dreaming. Of course I know the other characters in your story so can really see it!

    Please say hello to Ricky and tell him I believe in his dream and think it is possible. Why not!

    Love, s

    Sent from my iphone

    >

  2. I can’t wait to meet your Italian boyfriend! I love that he says this is HIS fantasy. Also that you’re secretly picturing soggy eclairs! So you.


Leave a comment